Species Recovery Trust
Home | Support Us | Contact Us

 

The Species Recovery Trust runs a series of acclaimed training courses teaching a range of skills throughout the year and across the country.

One of our core remits is re-connecting people with the natural world around them and these courses aim to improve identification skills and understanding of ecosystems. By attending these not only will you get a chance to learn about nature in stunning and surprising locations with like-minded people, but also financially support our species recovery programme.

Click on 'More Info' for detailed course info, directions and for some courses full species lists of what will be taught.

The full brochure can be viewed and downloaded here.

Children under 16 are very welcome, but should be accompanied by a parent or guardian.

All prices are in Pounds Sterling.

Discounted rates are for Species Recovery Trust supporters, students, pensioners and unemployed people.

2014 Training Courses

DATE COURSE VENUE INFO PACK BOOK
January        
Thursday 09/01/2014

Winter Trees

FULLY BOOKED

Natural History Museum, London MORE INFO

May        
Tuesday 13/05/2014 Early season/vegetative grass and sedge identification Old Sarum, Salisbury MORE INFO

Thursday 22/05/2014 am Introduction to Flowers - halfday course Natural History Museum, London MORE INFO

Thursday 22/05/2014 pm Introduction to Grasses  - halfday course Natural History Museum, London MORE INFO

June        
Monday 09/06/2014 Lichen Identification for Beginners New Forest MORE INFO
Thursday 12/06/2014 Grasses and Sedges - Grasslands and Meadows Old Sarum and Figsbury Ring, Salisbury MORE INFO

Two-day course includes Heathlands and Bogs course in New Forest
Friday 13/06/2014 Grasses, Sedges and Rushes - Heathlands and Bogs New Forest MORE INFO

Two-day course includes Grasslands and Meadows course in Old Sarum
Tuesday 17/06/2014 Learning Meadow Grasses Farthing Downs, South London MORE INFO
Wednesday 18/06/2014 Learning Meadow Flowers Farthing Downs, South London MORE INFO
Thursday 19/06/2014 pm Identifying British Native Trees - halfday course Natural History Museum, London MORE INFO

Monday 30/06/2014 Bumblebees; ecology and identification Martin Down, Hampshire MORE INFO

July        
Wednesday 02/07/2014 Arable Plant Identification and Ecology Micheldever, Hampshire MORE INFO

NEW DATE

Monday 7/07/2014

Wildflower Identification - Grasslands and Meadows Old Sarum and Figsbury Ring, Salisbury MORE INFO

NEW DATE

Tuesday 8/07/2014

Wildflower Identification - Heathland, Acid Grassland and Bogs New Forest MORE INFO

Monday 14/07/2014 Midsummer grass and sedge identification Old Sarum and Figsbury Ring, Salisbury MORE INFO

Thursday 17/07/2014

Using indicator species for habitat assessment (Phase I and NVC) - Grasslands

FULLY BOOKED

Old Sarum and Figsbury Ring, Salisbury MORE INFO

Two-day course includes Heathland and Acid Grassland in New Forest
Friday 18/07/2014 Using indicator species for habitat assessment (Phase I and NVC) - Heathlands and Acid Grassland New Forest MORE INFO

Two-day course includes Grasslands in Old Sarum
September        
Tuesday 23/09/2014 Fungus identification and conservation The Devenish Reserve, nr Salisbury MORE INFO

October        
Thursday 16/10/2014 Identification of Sphagnum Mosses Wilverly Bog, New Forest MORE INFO

November        
Thursday 06/11/2014 Assessing Trees for Bats Abinger Common, Surrey MORE INFO

Return to top

We would like to thank the Environment Jobs website for advertising all our courses. Their website also contains a wide range of resources for those pursuing careers in the environment sector and we are proud to have them as partners.